Hunting alligators can be a dangerous and exciting sport. It’s not for the faint of heart, but if you’re up for the challenge, it can be a thrilling experience. Alligator hunting season in Tennessee runs from September 1st to October 31st. If you’re planning on hunting during this time, there are a few things you should know. Read on for a complete guide to alligator hunting in Tennessee.
Alligator Hunting Laws in Tennessee
In Tennessee, alligator hunting is regulated by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency. Alligators may be taken only during the open season, which runs from the first Saturday in September through October 31. A maximum of two alligators may be taken per permit, and each alligator must be at least four feet long.
Alligator hunting is done by either a hand-held line or harpoon, and alligators may be taken from boats or on foot. When an alligator is hooked, it must be played until it is exhausted before being brought alongside the boat or to shore. Once an alligator is brought to shore, it must be dispatched immediately and cannot be released alive.
The hide and meat of the alligator must be removed from the carcass within 24 hours of harvest, and the carcass must be completely removed from the state within 48 hours. All hunters must have a valid Tennessee hunting license, and anyone born after January 1st, 1969 must have completed a Hunter Education Course before they can purchase a license.
Related: Hog Hunting in Tennessee
Do you need a license to hunt alligators in Tennessee?
If you want to hunt alligators in Tennessee, you need to have a license from the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA). You can get a license by applying for a permit through the TWRA website. The cost of the license is $250, and it is valid for one year. You will also need to purchase a hunting permit, which costs $50.
Alligator Hunting Seasons in Tennessee
In Tennessee, alligator hunting seasons typically run from early September to late October. In some parts of the state, alligator hunting season may be extended into November.
During alligator hunting season, hunters are required to possess a valid alligator hunting permit in order to harvest an alligator. Alligators may only be taken during daylight hours and must be harvested with a bang stick, harpoon, gigs, or snare. Alligators may not be harvested with firearms or crossbows.
All harvested alligators must be reported to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency within 24 hours of harvest. The TWRA will then issue the hunter a confirmation number, which must be kept with the alligator until it is processed.
Can you hunt Alligator at night in Tennessee?
There is no hunting of any kind allowed in Tennessee at night. This includes alligators. Alligator hunting is only allowed during daylight hours.
Bag limits for hunting Alligator in Tennessee
The bag limit for hunting alligators in Tennessee is two (2) per person, per day. Alligators must be taken with a gun, and only one (1) may be taken with a crossbow. Alligators must be four (4) feet or longer from snout to tail tip.
Legal ways to hunt Alligators in Tennessee
It is legal to hunt alligators in Tennessee with a few exceptions. You must have a valid hunting license and alligators may only be hunted during the open season. Alligators may not be hunted on public land but can be hunted on private land with the landowner’s permission.
The best way to hunt alligators is by baiting them with raw chicken or other meats. You will need to set up a blind or stand near the water where the alligator is feeding. Once the alligator takes the bait, you can shoot it with a shotgun or bow and arrow. It is important to aim for the head as this will kill the alligator instantly.
If you are successful in harvesting an alligator, you must report it to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency within 24 hours. The agency will issue you a permit and provide instructions on how to properly transport your trophy.
Can you use dogs to hunt alligators in Tennessee?
Yes, dogs can be used to hunt alligators in Tennessee. Alligators are most active at night, so hunters typically use dogs to help track and locate them. Dogs that are trained for alligator hunting are typically large breeds such as the American Bulldog or Pitbull. These dogs are equipped with a special harness that allows them to safely swim and enter the water to track down an alligator. Once the alligator is located, the hunter will use a boat to get close enough to shoot it.
Can you hunt Alligator from a vehicle in Tennessee?
Yes, you can hunt alligators from a vehicle in Tennessee. All you need is a valid hunting license and a permit from the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA). You can apply for a permit online or at any TWRA office.
As our alligator hunt came to an end, we couldn’t help but reflect on the entire experience. From start to finish, it was an incredible adventure that we’ll never forget. If you’re considering an alligator hunt, we would highly recommend it – just be sure to do your research and be prepared for anything!