Crocodile Hunting in Louisiana [Updated Rules And Regulations 2023]

Louisiana is home to some of the most diverse wildlife in North America. From turtles to alligators, and even a few rare species of crocodile, this state is teeming with life. Louisiana also has long been known for its vibrant hunting culture, with hunters flocking to the area each season in search of game. However, while hunting can be a great source of enjoyment and pride, it should always be done responsibly and sustainably. For this reason, Louisiana recently updated its rules and regulations around crocodile hunting in 2023.

In this blog post, we’ll explore what these rule changes entail and how they will affect hunters who are looking to target crocodiles in the future.

Crocodile Hunting Laws in Louisiana

In Louisiana, it is legal to hunt crocodiles with a few specific guidelines in place. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) has put together a list of rules and regulations that must be followed when hunting these predators.

First and foremost, all hunters must have a valid hunting license. In addition, LDWF requires anyone who wishes to hunt crocodiles to attend an approved croc-hunting course. The course covers topics such as safety, regulations, and proper handling of harvested animals.

Once you have completed the training course, you will be issued a Louisiana Crocodile Hunting Permit. This permit must be carried with you at all times while hunting and is only valid for one season.

There are no size limits on crocodiles that can be harvested in Louisiana; however, all animals must be killed humanely. That means using a method that will dispatch the animal quickly and without suffering. Common methods used include firearms, captive bolt devices, or large-caliber rifles.

Crocodiles can only be hunted during daylight hours and may not be pursued at night. All animals must be retrieved from the water within 24 hours of being killed. The LDWF recommends using a boat with a winch or crane to safely remove crocodiles from the water.

The meat, skin, and head of the crocodile can be kept by the hunter; however, the tail must be turned over to LDWF within five days of harvest.

Do You Need A License To Hunt Crocodiles In Louisiana?

In Louisiana, you need a license to hunt alligators, but not crocodiles. Alligator hunting is regulated by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). A hunting license and a permit from the LDWF are required to hunt alligators. The LDWF does not issue permits to hunt crocodiles.

Crocodile Hunting Seasons in Louisiana

Louisiana’s crocodile hunting season typically runs from September 1st through March 31st of the following year. However, the exact dates may vary slightly from year to year, so it’s always best to check with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) for the most up-to-date information.

During the croc hunting season, LDWF allows a limited number of tags to be issued on a first-come, first-served basis. The cost of a tag is $25 for Louisiana residents and $100 for non-residents. In order to purchase a tag, you must first obtain a Louisiana hunting license.

Once you have your license and tag, you can start hunting crocodiles anywhere in the state where they are found – with two exceptions. First, you cannot hunt within 200 yards of any occupied dwelling without the landowner’s permission.

Second, you cannot hunt in any portion of the Atchafalaya Basin Floodway System (ABFS) that has been closed to hunting by LDWF. For more information about ABFS closures, please see section 2 below.

Can You Hunt Crocodiles At Night In Louisiana?

Yes, you can hunt crocodiles at night in Louisiana. In fact, many hunters consider night hunting to be the best time to hunt these elusive creatures. There are a few things to keep in mind when hunting crocodiles at night, however.

First, always use a good quality spotlight when searching for crocodiles. Second, be sure to keep a safe distance from the animal while shining your light on it.

And finally, always remember to obey the rules and regulations set forth by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

Bag Limits For Hunting Crocodiles In Louisiana

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) has established the following bag limits for hunting crocodiles in Louisiana:

  1. 2 Alligators – The take of alligators is allowed only by airboat and only during the day. Alligator hunts are conducted from September 10-30. A maximum of two (2) alligators per person may be taken per license year. There is no size limit on alligators that may be taken.
  2. 4 American Alligators – The take of American alligators is allowed only during the day. Alligator hunts are conducted from September 10-30. A maximum of two (2) alligators per person may be taken per license year. There is no size limit on alligators that may be taken.

Legal Ways To Hunt Crocodiles In Louisiana

Crocodile hunting is only allowed in specific areas in Louisiana. The season for hunting crocs opens on September 1 and closes on June 30. All hunters must have a valid Louisiana hunting license, and anyone born after Sept. 1, 1969, must complete a hunter education course before obtaining a license.

There are four Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) where crocodile hunting is allowed: Atchafalaya Delta, Lake Verret, Bayou Pierre and Pointe-aux-Chenes. A complete list of rules and regulations for crocodile hunting can be found here:

Can You Hunt Crocodiles From A Vehicle In Louisiana?

In Louisiana, it is illegal to hunt alligators or crocodiles from a moving vehicle or using a vehicle as a means of pursuing these animals. This regulation is enforced to ensure the safety of both the animals and hunters.

Louisiana is one of the states where crocodile hunting is legal, but hunters must follow the state’s regulations to avoid any legal consequences. These regulations include obtaining the necessary licenses and permits, using the appropriate hunting methods, and adhering to bag limits.

Hunting alligators or crocodiles from a stationary vehicle is allowed in Louisiana under certain conditions, such as when the vehicle is parked or when the engine is turned off. However, hunting from a vehicle is generally discouraged as it is not considered a fair chase method.

In any case, it’s crucial to prioritize safety and follow all necessary precautions when hunting, regardless of the game being pursued. Hunters should also make sure to familiarize themselves with the specific regulations and guidelines of the state they plan to hunt in.

Final Thoughts

Now that you know the updated rules and regulations for crocodile hunting in Louisiana, you should be able to go out and enjoy this great activity. Remember to always stay safe, and be respectful of the environment and the wildlife. With a little bit of planning and preparation, you can have a great time crocodile hunting in Louisiana.

Important Notice: The articles published on this website are only for informational purposes and we do not promote hunting/ killing animals. If you are willing to hunt please refer to Authorized sources for correct and updated information. Writer/ Website owner will not be responsible for any consequences due to information provided on this website. You can refer to relevant Government sources for updated information.

Leave a Comment